Machine Nation
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Machine Nation

Irish Politics Forum - Politics Technology Economics in Ireland - A Look Under The Nation's Bonnet

Devilish machinations come to naught --Milton

PortalPortal  HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  GalleryGallery  MACHINENATION.org  

Building a Barbecue

Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage

Building a Barbecue Empty
PostSubject: Building a Barbecue   Building a Barbecue EmptySat May 31, 2008 11:12 am

I have decided that I'm going to build a barbecue tomorrow while Husband is away.

Suggestions and advice would be much appreciated - like does anyone know where I might get a rack this afternoon. I like the idea of bricks but red brick doesn't do it for me and yellow brick looks like newborn-baby poo. I want to construct it. I have no building experience to speak of, though I know how to mix cement and use a spirit level. I'm also a rather knacky grouter but don't expect those skills to be of much use.

I'm open to any ideas or suggestions but any shopping will have to be done fairly locally in regular building supply and hardware places (unless there's a really good idea and I can get my brother to purchase in town). Obviously you're all invited when it's up and running. Smile
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: Building a Barbecue   Building a Barbecue EmptySat May 31, 2008 11:27 am

I bought one like a little green sputnik 3 years ago - not at all elaborate and quite cheap, and it cooks beautifully.
But I can hear that you are in the mood for some heavy construction work, so I'm sure you will wait for someone to come along with a more substantial solution. If its going to be a permanent structure, picking the right spot is very important, so it might be worth trying it out first just for a picnic before building.
Back to top Go down